Can you buy real moonshine
“It’s a term that’s generally applied to any alcohol that was made illegally.
When you break it down, moonshine is really just a high-proof spirit.
No real moonshiner accepts store-bought as the real thing.”.
How can I sell moonshine legally
If a person wishes to legally distill alcohol, they have two options. The first option is to obtain a Federal Distilled Spirits Permit. This is the permit that industry giants like Jack Daniels and Makers Mark distilleries possess, which makes it legal for them to distill and distribute to the public.
How many gallons of moonshine is legal in Georgia
(B) Not more than 200 gallons per calendar year if there are two or more persons of legal drinking age living in such residence; provided, however, that no more than 50 gallons shall be produced in a 90 day period.
What is proof of moonshine
Most spirits sold in shops today will use alcohol by volume (ABV) instead of proof. In the United States alcohol proof is twice the percentage of alcohol by volume. This means your average bottle of 40% ABV moonshine will be 80 proof.
Is it legal to make moonshine in Georgia for personal use
No. This is illegal because you don’t pay tax on the liquor. James L. Yeargan, Jr. is licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia.
Can you make moonshine in TN for personal use
State Overview state laws It is illegal to own a still for the purpose of distilling moonshine in the state of Tennessee. The law is specific about the use for manufacturing ethanol, but not about owning a still, or using a still for distilling water, essential oils, etc.
Can you make moonshine for personal consumption
Moonshine is typically made out of some kind of corn mash. Today, people make artisan moonshine out of a sense of nostalgia and preference for taste. These can be sold in liquor stores or brewed just for personal use. However, distilling alcohol at home, even for personal use, is illegal under federal law.
How hard is it to make moonshine
Technically, moonshine is a homemade, unaged high proof grain alcohol, typically around 190 proof. The process to make moonshine from scratch, starting with a corn mash to distilling is quite difficult and illegal without a license.
How much is a gallon of moonshine
As with most liquor, the price you’ll pay for moonshine depends on the quality, amount, and where you get it from. “Street” moonshine is more commonly sold by the quart or gallon. You can expect to pay $30 to $100 for a gallon. Moonshine is a high-proof, unaged alcoholic beverage otherwise known as white whiskey.
Is it illegal to transport moonshine across state lines
The general rule is that if you are transporting a reasonable consumable amount, and the duties and tariffs have been paid in the state of origin, it’s legal.
Why is moonshine illegal
So why is moonshine still illegal? Because the liquor is worth more to the government than beer or wine. Uncle Sam takes an excise tax of $2.14 for each 750-milliliter bottle of 80-proof spirits, compared with 21 cents for a bottle of wine (of 14 percent alcohol or less) and 5 cents for a can of beer.
What happens if you get caught making moonshine
If you are caught transporting moonshine, you may be charged with the illegal possession of an alcoholic beverage. The possession of moonshine is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which, as of January 2014, carries a maximum sentence of 11 months and 29 days in jail and a fine of $2,500.
Can moonshine make you go blind
Can you really drink yourself blind? If you’re drinking moonshine, yes. Although alcohol that’s properly manufactured and regulated does not by itself cause blindness, people sometimes do go blind from drinking bootleg beverages. One common concern with moonshine is lead poisoning, which has been linked to blindness.
How many gallons of moonshine can you legally make in Tennessee
five gallonsA licensed distillery can sell its product at retail for consumption off premise to any person of legal drinking age limited to five gallons (5 gal.) or one sixth (1/6) of a barrel of its product to any one (1) individual per visit to the premises.
Is buying moonshine illegal
Making moonshine also poses obvious risks of fire or explosion. Laws against moonshine may place those who wish to make their own line of commercial brandy or other spirit in a tricky situation. … But federal law trumps state law, and to the feds, distilling at home for personal consumption is illegal, period.